The EUFAS-EAR award 2020

Since 2016 EUFAS collaborates with the journal European Addiction Research to present the EUFAS-EAR Award to an outstanding scientist in addiction research.

The EUFAS EAR award nomination committee (Antoni Gual (chair of committee), Jørgen G. Bramness, Falk Kiefer and Anneke Goudriaan) has suggested that the EUFAS-EAR award 2020 be awarded Professor Marta Torrens. Professor Torrens is Head of Addiction Programme at the Institute of Neuropsychiatry and Addictions-Parc de Salut Mar, Barcelona, Spain, Member of the Clinical Commission of the National Plan on Drugs from the Spanish Ministry of Health and Executive member of the Section on Dual Disorders/Pathology of WPA.

The nomination was endorsed by the EC of EUFAS and the EAR.

Professor Marta Torrens is awarded the EUFAS-EAR price for excellent contributions to European addiction research 2020. Torrens has through her numerous publications (> 200) in international referee-based journals of the highest quality contributed substantially to European addiction research both basic research and clinical research is such different areas like, opioid use and its treatment, cannabis use, novel psychoactive substances (NPS),  blood born infections in drug users, intimate partner violence and several different aspects of dual diagnosis. In the latter she has been central to the introduction of European versions of psychometric screening and diagnostic instruments like the DDSI and PRISM. She has participated in many national and international conferences and courses about good practices in the clinical treatment of drug abuse. She has collaborated with international organizations such as the EMCDDA, WHO and UNODC and has been invited as an expert to scientific congresses and meetings.

Former recipients of EUFAS EAR award

  • 2016 Professor Karl Mann
  • 2017 Professor Jürgen Rehm
  • 2018 Professor Wim van den Brink
  • 2019 Professor John Strang